Australia’s Tourism Restart Plan Published

07 Jul 2020 |

Australia’s foremost tourism experts have released a plan for reopening the country and welcoming visitors back, as the industry looks to save businesses, jobs and livelihoods in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic.

The Tourism Restart Taskforce, launched by The Australian Chamber – Tourism to reignite tourism across the country, has now released the Tourism Restart Plan in response to the economic impact of the COVID-19 pandemic.

“The Taskforce is devoted to getting travel, tourism and hospitality sectors back in business in order to save the country’s largest services exports industry,” the group’s chair  Dr Jeremy Johnson said.

“The plan provides a runway back to operations as we look to save the industries which create one of 13 jobs in the Australian economy.”

Australian Chamber – Tourism chair John Hart said the group was formed in order to provide expert advice to the Morrison Government on a supply-side action plan for restarting domestic and international tourism.

“What we need right now is a clear timetable from the Morrison Government in order to restore hope to the tourism sector,” Mr Hart said.

“Tourism businesses need lead time to prepare – they can’t just open their doors in 24 hours and start trading.

“We hope this plan will help all levels of government deliver that, as well as providing the necessary support for business owners who are doing their best to hang on during this once-in-a-lifetime crisis.”

Australian Government Agencies, including Austrade, the National COVID Coordination Commission, Tourism Australia and Treasury worked with the Taskforce as the plan was being developed and have been integral to getting the restart program set in motion.

“We look forward to continuing to work with them and other Government agencies to see the plan implemented in full,” Mr Hart said.

Read the Tourism Restart Plan delivered to the Morrison Government on July 3.

Australia’s Tourism Restart Taskforce members:

  • Dr Jeremy Johnson AM (Chair) (Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry)
  • The Hon. Bruce Baird AM (Business Events Sydney, TTF)
  • Sarina Bratton AM (Ponant)
  • Geoff Donaghy (BECA, ASM Global, ICC Sydney)
  • Bob East (Tourism Australia)
  • The Hon. Martin Ferguson AM (Tourist Accommodation Australia)
  • Nikki Govan (Star of Greece)
  • Denis Pierce (Australian Tourism Export Council)
  • Graham (Skroo) Turner (Flight Centre)
  • Jacqui Walshe (The Walshe Group)
  • John Hart (Australian Chamber –Tourism).

Marie Hogg

Senior Adviser - Media

P  |  0431 299 518

E  |  [email protected]

Want to hear more from us?

    NewsletterMedia Releases